Pro.Cras.Ti.Nate.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/18/daily-prompt-time/

I put the PRO in PROCRASTINATE! Just kidding. Or am I?

I did not set an alarm last night, because today I had no pressing commitments. Other than some electronic paperwork. That will likely take a while to complete. I’ve been awake since around 6:30 a.m. or so. But, I’ve yet to even look at this paperwork. Instead, I am reading and writing a blog. I am listening to music. I watched a couple episodes of a show on Netflix.

I made more coffee. I thought about doing laundry. I thought about going for a jog (I’ll probably still do that, just as soon as I finish this). I’ve been thinking on and off about what tomorrow’s obligations, and what I may need to do today to be prepared. But doing things at the last minute is so much more fulfilling!

This is my problem. I often have so much going on that I am unable to properly focus. This causes me to stay motionless, thinking about all the things I have to do. And then, before I know it, I’ve just watched an entire season of Battlestar Galactica or read half of a 2,000-page book, and I have to rush to get my obligations done. This ADD thing can literally paralyze me.

There is not one particular thing I am procrastinating on. In fact, there are only a minute percentage of things I put off on purpose. Most of the time, it’s unintentional. Perhaps it’s because I’ve spent my entire life putting things off as a way to cope with the anxiety of “what if?” syndrome.

But I’m changing that. I’ve learned other coping mechanisms. I have to constantly remind myself that results only come from action. I have to remind myself not to think too much.

Stranger yet, I never have this problem at work. At least, it is seldom a problem as a result of my own inaction. Usually if something at work is pushed off, it’s because I have to wait on one or more of the other powers that be.

My most recent musical obsession is A Perfect Circle’s album Thirteenth Step. Transformative. I can take solace in knowing that I don’t need to make people understand the incredible depths I can see when there is beauty like that.

I suppose I should stop procrastinating and do something useful today.

Auf wiedersehen,

Sid

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pro.Cras.Ti.Nate.

  1. Mr. Atheist says:

    Listening to your musical muse as I write this. New. To me. So new. Interesting. What’s the 2,000 book? Reference manual? Don Quixote in the original Spanish?

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Procrastination | My Atheist Blog

  3. Oh I wish I could read Don Quixote in the original Spanish. Alas, my Spanish is terrible at its best. I do have a technical manual that is ridiculously thick, Henry Kissinger’s “Democracy” is not quite 1,000 pages but runs close to that, I have a three-book set on the history of the Cold War that together total about 2,000 pages or so (if you include the lengthy index and “Bibliographic Essays” sections), a book about cultural history and revolution in Iran that’s around 1,500 pages…and, there is always the seventh Harry Potter book, and Game of Thrones, which is just over 3,000 pages on my iBooks. Among others, of course. I read quite a lot, and quite a variety of things.

    Have you read Don Quixote in the original Spanish? 😉

  4. Pingback: The Squawk of Unopened Books | Expressions

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

