My Heart is Broken, but I Love Him Anyway

I’ve been working on this song for a bit, and I finally took the time to complete it. I’m thinking metal; mostly because no one would ever suspect it’s a love song unless they actually looked up the lyrics 🙂

 

CSH (This One’s for You)

Some day, something will kill you,

one way or another; so fuck it,

let’s have another.

The elated beautiful moments you

and I, we spend together,

can be so fleeting that, maybe, it’s

better we just sleep forever,

basking in our brilliant dreams,

escaping the irrelevant minutiae that

makes us scream;

Life is nothing more than an expertly

concocted lie,

a farce to distract the masses from

the realization that in the end,

all beauty, and light, and love, will die.

 

[x1]

If I died tomorrow,

would you suddenly see

that behind your cluttered lens

always was the truth of me?

If I died tomorrow,

would you suddenly hear

all the things I told you

about love and death and fear?

If I died tomorrow,

would you suddenly know

how deeply you were loved by me

and how I tried to tell you so?

 

And in some faraway fantasy,

I’m loving you with secret urgency,

I’m sitting on a warm beach

watching the brilliant spectacular sunset

Listening to the peaceful beckoning waves

crashing on the shore.

Through your glistening eyes I reach

out with my heart so you don’t forget,

and talking to souls I never got

the candid opportunity to before.

Though, my stomach’s still not right;

Think I’ll skip dinner tonight.

Perhaps a glass (a cask?) of wine instead

to quiet the voices of the dead…

 

[x2]

If I died tomorrow,

would you suddenly see

that behind your cluttered lens

always was the truth of me?

If I died tomorrow,

would you suddenly hear

all the things I told you

about love and death and fear?

If I died tomorrow,

would you suddenly know

how deeply you were loved by me

and how I tried to tell you so?

 

…I am considering adding a third verse, just to round it out a bit. I’ve not yet convinced myself. Anyone care to weight in?

 

Bis Spaeter,

Sid

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

