The First Day of Eternity

And a good evening to you, too. In my absence,  I’ve had much time to think. I’ve thought about where I want my life to go, about compromising with my significant other on such decisions, about growing together, about goals that we can set and accomplish. I’ve been wanting to renew my commitment to write daily. Not just work on my novel, but to post in this blog. The idea behind this blog was to document and analyze history, both old and new, as well as to serve as a platform for some creative writing. Today, I am beginning a project to write about my personal history (kind of). Today, I am writing the first post regarding a personal goal set, with the intention of creating a new entry each day. Today, 1 May, 2017, is the first day of eternity.

Let me begin. I’m fat. And I’m not THAT fat, really, but one of my jobs requires me to be less fat than I am. So, I must lose weight. I’ve been struggling with weight gain over the last several years, and as many people know, it is harder to lose weight than to gain it. The first part of this personal goal is to lose 20 pounds by July 1st. I’ve been told that some scientists somewhere determined that healthy weight loss is between 1 and 3 pounds per week, so 20 pounds by July 1st doesn’t seem too far-fetched. But I HAVE to stay strict and committed to the diet I started today. Diets. It’s like a dirty word that fills me with fear and loathing. However, my diet isn’t that bad. It’s designed to be low sugar and low grain-based carbohydrate. I’ve been doing some research about grains, and apparently they’re quite bad for humans. Anecdotal evidence has convinced me that I need to do something drastic like stop eating bread and pasta except maybe once in a blue moon. The people I know who have tried it lost a lot of weight in a pretty short amount of time, and that’s exactly what I need to do. As far as food, today went very well. I didn’t cheat once.

The second part of my goal is to be able to run 2 miles in 20 minutes or less. That may seem silly to some people, but trust me, it’s necessary. I get a physical fitness test once a year, or more often, if I will be attending certain types of training. I have one such training event coming up this summer, and I need to be better at my 2 mile run. I made a plan for myself. I do P90X videos in the mornings 4 days a week. 3 days a week, I run on the treadmill for 2 miles, and each week, I increase the speed by .1 mile per hour. For example, today was a treadmill day, and I started at 5.5 miles per hour. Next week, I will increase the speed to 5.6 miles per hour. Does anyone else despise running on the treadmill? It gets boring and it’s difficult to focus. But, there are some beneficial things about it. The primary benefit is training your body at a consistent pace, which will teach you how to pace yourself should you ever need to. Another benefit to treadmill running is that it allows you to work on efficient form and movement, which will ultimately help you improve your stamina and your VO2 max. A third benefit, and a very important one, is that it helps you build mental discipline and focus. Many people struggle with running, and they come up with all kinds of excuses for why they WANT to do it more often, but they CAN’T because stuff that’s arbitrary to your success. What they don’t realize is that running is much more mental than physical. If you can effectively train your mind to have the self-discipline to keep going, then you’ll be running marathons in no time! Personally, my problem has never been distance; it’s always been speed.

Anyway, 1 day a week I will also do hill sprints. Those are a great way to improve VO2 max. It’s like weightlifting for your heart! Another 1 day a week will be regular old sprints on a track, or whatever area I can find that I can separate into intervals. Again, this works stamina and VO2 max. Then, once a week, probably on Saturdays when my boyfriend is sleeping, I will work in a long run. And maybe Sundays we’ll do a long walk, hike, ruck march, or other similar activity together.

Today, I accomplished these smaller goals that I set out to do. The key is to do it every day. Then, maintain that for at least two months. Having tackled a weight loss and running speed problem before, I know I’m capable of doing it again. The real challenge is going to be maintaining and building strong mental discipline, until it becomes a habit.

Today is the first day of the rest my life, and I am lucky that my boyfriend is joining me on this journey. I’ll be back tomorrow.

Auf Wiedersehen!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

